The project involves specialists from across three Greater Manchester Universities: the University of Manchester, the University of Salford and Manchester Metropolitan University. Importantly, the project team will work with older people from across Greater Manchester as co-investigators in the research, as well as with partners and other academic and non-academic advisors.

Principal Investigator

Professor Sarah Lindley, Geography, School of Environment, Education & Development (SEED), University of Manchester. Sarah is leader of Geography’s Environmental Processes research group. Sarah’s work focuses on: understanding human-environment interactions in urban areas; mapping and assessing hazards, vulnerabilities and risks; and quantifying the benefits from urban green and blue spaces.



  • Dr Matthew Dennis, School of Environment, Education and Development, The University of Manchester
  • Rebecca Taylor, School of Social Sciences, The University of Manchester
  • Dr Richard Christian, School of Social Sciences, The University of Manchester
  • Jack Benton, School of Psychological Science, The University of Manchester

Partner Organisations

Advisory Group Membership

  • Prof. (Emeritus) John Handley (Chair)
  • Francine Hayfron (GHIA cultural coordinator), Whitworth Art Gallery
  • Kirsty Bagnall, Ambition for Ageing, Greater Manchester Centre for Voluntary Organisation
  • Dave Barlow, Manchester City Council
  • Lisa Lingard, Manchester Climate Change Agency
  • Gillian Renshaw, Canal and River Trust
  • Jessica Thompson, City of Trees
  • Esme Ward, Manchester Museum & the Whitworth
  • Paul McGarry, Greater Manchester Ageing Hub, Greater Manchester Combined Authority (GMCA)
  • Prof. Raymond Agius, University of Manchester
  • Prof. Richard Kingston, Tellus Toolkit, University of Manchester
  • Prof. Andrew Stirling, University of Sussex
  • Prof. Phil Wheater, Manchester Metropolitan University
  • Jennifer Connolly, Public Health, Stockport Council
  • Suzanne Hilton, CEO Bolton AgeUK
  • James McInerney, Salford City Council
  • John Mouncey, Manchester City Council
  • Anna da Silva, Royal Horticultural Society
  • Krista Patrick, Greater Manchester Combined Authority
  • Jonathan Porter, Countryscape and Valuing Nature Network